Global Association Advisory Board

The Global Association Advisory Board

The Global Association Advisory Board (GAAB) refers to the organizational and governance structure of the Global Association.  GAAB is comprised of the President, the Academic Steering Committee, Academic Advisory Council, Global Advisory Council, Students and Alumni Council and the MDP Secretariat.  In order to function effectively the Board is guided by bylaws that define its purpose and responsibilities.  If you  have any questions about the Global Association Advisory Board, please send an email to


The president of the Global Association is the MDP champion and leader at the host academic institution that houses the Global Association.

  • Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director, Earth Institute, Columbia University

Academic Steering Committee (ASC):

ASC is the mission and vision setting, policy-making, strategic planning body of the Global Association of MDP programs. ASC is comprised of six members of the Global Association, each representing one region of the world.

  • Zhilin Liu, Tsinghua University, China (East Asia)
  • Rodrigo Medeiro, Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Latin America)
  • David Nugent, Emory University, USA (North America)
  • Labode Popoola, University of Ibadan, Nigeria (Africa)
  • Mala Reddy, TERI, India (South Asia)
  • Patrick Paul Walsh, Trinity College Dublin & University College Dublin, Ireland (Europe)

Global Advisory Council (GAC):

Leaders, experts, and scholars are nominated to GAC by the members of the Global Association.   Each GAC member represents one of the Global Association regions of the world (East Asia, Latin America, North America, Africa, South Asia, and Europe) .  Their role is to assist and/or advise the Global Association.

  • Brian Atwood, Professor, University of Minnesota
  • Lloyd Axworthy, President, University of Winnipeg
  • Kathleen Cravero-Kristoffersson, President, Oak Foundation
  • Helene Gayle, President & CEO, CARE
  • Carlos Enrique Cavelier, President, Alqueria Dairy, Colombia
  • Carlos Ferreira Castro, UNDP
  • Jeff Koplan, Director & Professor, Global Health Institute, Emory University
  • R.K. Pachauri, Director-General, TERI, India
  • Mary Robinson, President, Foundation and Chair, Board of Trustees, Mary Robinson Foundation
  • Dolores Rojas Rubio, Coordinator, Fundacion Heinrich Boell, Mexico
  • Fabio Scarano, Senior Vice President, Americas, Conservation International
  • Erik Solheim, Chair, OECD, Development Assistance Committee

Academic Advisory Council (AAC)

AAC consists of all MDP faculty directors or coordinators, equal to the number of members in the Global Association, one per MDP program. 

  1.     Ferdous Jahan, BRAC Development Institute, BRAC University (Bangladesh)
  2.     Nagendra Nath Sharma, Birla Institute of Management Technology (India)
  3.     Mildred Jimenez, CATIE (Costa Rica)
  4.     Glenn Denning,  Columbia University (USA)
  5.     David Nugent,  Emory University (USA)
  6.     Michelle Reddy, PSIA, Institute of Political Sciences (Sciences Po) (France)
  7.     Agni Boedhihartono (Intu), James Cook University (Australia)
  8.     Lisa Eklund,  Lund University (Sweden)
  9.     Herman Musahara, National University of Rwanda, (Rwanda)
  10.     Mala Reddy, TERI University (India)
  11.     Paul Patrick Walsh, Trinity College Dublin and University College Dublin (Ireland)
  12.     Zhilin Liu, Tsinghua University (China)
  13.     Luisa Fernanda Lema Velez, Universidad de los Andes (Colombia)
  14.     Rodrigo Medeiros, Universidade Federal Rural do Rio de Janeiro, UFRRJ (Brazil)
  15.     Jorge Ferrao, Universidade LĂșrio (Mozambique)
  16.     Suzyrman Sibly, Universite Sains Malaysia (Malaysia)
  17.     Tim Finan, University of Arizona (USA)
  18.     Trease Galvin, University of Botswana (Botswana)
  19.     George Scharffenberger, University of California, Berkeley (USA)
  20.     Aly Mbaye, University of Cheikh Anta Diop [UCAD] (Senegal)
  21.     Glenn Galloway, University of Florida (USA)
  22.     Labode Popoola, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
  23.     Dave Wilsey, University of Minnesota (USA)
  24.     Dileni Gunawardena,  University of Peradeniya (Sri Lanka)
  25.     Bruce Frayne, University of Waterloo (Canada)
  26.     Claire Reid, University of Winnipeg (Canada)
  • Task Forces  Many Academic Advisory Council (AAC) members work on Task  Forces created by the Academic Steering Committee.   Some of the task forces have been in existence for several years; most are new and will be short lived. 
    • Global Classroom:  Foundations of Sustainable Develpment Practice
    • Evaluation & Accreditation
    • MDP Field Training
    • Research, Publications & Journals
    • Annual MDP Summit and International Conference on Sustainable Development Practice (ICSDP)
    • Online Resources
    • Student Alumni Advisory Council (SAAC)

Students and Alumni Advisory Council (SAAC)

SAAC advocates for the interests and needs of the MDP students and alumni in the Global Association. SAAC is in the process of organizing itself.

Global MDP Secretariat

The MDP Secretariat serves as the administrative arm of the Global Association.  The Secretariat supports, coordinates and oversees the activities of the Global Association. 

  • Lucia Rodriguez, Director